History Guide

The EUI Library curates and manages a history collection, which serves the needs of the History Department and the broader EUI community. In addition to this, I offer assistance with a wide range of queries—from bibliographies and data management to citation management and publishing.

You can find my contact details on the left-hand side of this page. This guide provides information about the history collection and includes links to other guides on specific topics.

Requesting a resource that the Library does not hold

If you cannot find a book that you need, please have a look at the options below:

• Request a book/article via our interlibrary loan service (for books older than 8-10 years and articles in journals to which the EUI Library does not subscribe)

• Suggest the purchase of a book/eBook (for recent books)

• Find it in a Florentine library 

If you'd like to suggest the subscription to a new database our journal, please write me an email. 

General information about the EUI Library history collection

The history collection is multi-cultural and multilingual in the field of European historiography and national historiography. 

Books, journals and online material cover European history and the relation between Europe and the world from the Renaissance and the Early Modern times to the present day. 

What is covered

• History and historiography of Europe and of the Mediterranean (15th - 21st centuries), history of Europe in the world, global history, intellectual history, cultural history, the history of science and the history of gender and sexuality.
• Main national, European and worldwide academic journals (and eJournals) in the field of history of European countries and Europe
• Language dictionaries and encyclopedias
• Annual history bibliographies and subject bibliographies
• European national newspapers, 1945-
• History statistics and census
• European and US diplomatic documents
• Journal databases and bibliographies if available in electronic format
• Main national histories
• Historiography monographs in their original language if dealing with the department profile, research projects and interests

Acquisition policy

The acquisition policy for History & Civilisation is shaped by the following criteria:

• Current and planned research projects in the Department. Suggestions are submitted by all members of the Department and processed by the History Information Specialist (via the Book purchase request form)
• Individual research needs of academic staff, fellows and researchers. Suggestions are discussed directly with the History Information Specialist who orders the material if accepted. Other ways to access a document are sometimes offered as an alternative to acquisition. 
• European history as a whole and the history of single European nations from the early modern era to the present. 
• Material is normally acquired in the original language of publication, except whenever the original is out of print or when a translation is needed for teaching purposes.

Are you looking for something that used to be on the old website? Please consult the Wayback Machine.