Law reference collection
The Law reference collection at the Library includes both print and electronic resources.
This collection continues to grow, particularly in digital formats, ensuring users have access to the most current and comprehensive legal reference materials available.
All print legal reference works are housed on the second floor of the Library and form part of the Law Collection. These resources include legal encyclopaedias, dictionaries, and other essential legal reference materials. Legal dictionaries are located at the beginning of the Law Collection, under the shelfmark 340.03. This section includes not only general legal dictionaries but also specialized dictionaries of legal abbreviations and citations.
Online encyclopedias: a selection
-
Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law
by
Containing newly updated versions of existing entries and adding several important new entries, this second edition of the Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Lawtakes stock of present-day comparative law scholarship. Written by leading authorities in their respective fields, the contributions in this accessible book cover and combine not only questions regarding the methodology of comparative law, but also specific areas of law (such as administrative law and criminal law) and specific topics (such as accident compensation and consideration). In addition, the Encyclopediacontains reports on a selected set of countries' legal systems and, as a whole, presents an overview of the current state of affairs. Providing its readers with a unique point of reference, as well as stimulus for further research, this volume is an indispensable tool for anyone interested in comparative law, especially academics, students and practitioners. Contributors:M. Abe, D. Bradley, W. Bull, W.E. Butler, R. Caterina, M. Claes, H. Cousy, E. Dacoronia, G.-R. de Groot, M.J. de Waal, H. Dedek, M. Deturbide, R. Dotevall, J.E. du Plessis, M.G. Faure, B. Fauvarque-Cosson, J. Fedtke, F. Ferrari, A. Fournier, J. Fu, D. Geradin, H.P. Glenn, M. Gondek, J. Gordley, J. Hage, B. Havel, J.H. Herbots, V. Heutger, G. Howells, E.J. Hughes, M. Hunter-Henin, J. Husa, N. Jansen, M.T. Kamminga, A.J. Kanning, S.M. Kroll, P. Letto-Vanamo, S.D. Lindenbergh, G. Lubbe, B. Lurger, L. Macgregor, H.L. MacQueen, U. Magnus, K. Mayer, R. Michaels, J.M. Milo, H. Muir Watt, J. Neethling, H.P. Nehl, D. Nelken, L. Nottage, C. O'Cinneide, A.E. Orucu, V.V. Palmer, F. Pennings, P. Pichonnaz, B. Pozzo, L. Rademacher, G. Samuel, M.J. Schermaier, M. Schmidt-Kessel, E. Schrage, G. Shalev, L. Slepaite, D. Smith, J.M. Smits, Z.D. Tarman, V. Thuronyi, M. Torsello, J.H.M. van Erp, N. Van Leuven, C.H. van Rhee, L. van Vliet, A. Vaquer, R. Verhagen, R. Verkerk, D. Visser, S. Vogenauer, M. Vranken, S. Weatherill, T. Weigend, B. Wessels, C.A. Williams, J. Ziller, P. Zumbansen
ISBN: 9781849804158Publication Date: 2012-10-31 -
Elgar Encyclopedia of Crime and Criminal Justice
by
The Elgar Encyclopedia of Crime and Criminal Justicestands apart as the most comprehensive global reference title in its field. Featuring the work of over 250 scholars and practitioners from around the world, the Encyclopedia presents an accessible and uniquely far-reaching set of entries on topics associated with crime and criminal justice. Within this flagship work, the incredible breadth and depth of the field is captured by a diverse and international range of contributors. The Encyclopedia is curated by a team of globally renowned scholars and is ambitious in its scope - comprising thematic, regional and comparative coverage. Entries give a concise summary of the accumulated knowledge on their topic, followed by a list of references to facilitate further study. Over 300 entries Entries organised alphabetically for ease of navigation Fully cross-referenced Entries written by scholars and practitioners from around the world World class editorial team The Encyclopedia will be available online ahead of print, followed by a multi-volume print edition.
ISBN: 9781789902983Publication Date: 2024-11-08 -
Elgar Encyclopedia of Human Rights by The Elgar Encyclopedia of Human Rightsis the most comprehensive reference work in the field of international human rights protection. Comprising over 340 entries, presented alphabetically, and available online and in print, the Encyclopedia addresses the full range of themes associated with the study and practice of human rights in the modern world. Topics range from substantive human rights to the relevant institutions, legal documents, conceptual and procedural issues of international law and a wide variety of thematic entries. The Encyclopedia has a distinct focus on international human rights law but at the same time is enriched by approaches from the broader social sciences, making it a truly unique and multi-disciplinary resource. The Encyclopedia boasts an incredibly diverse author team, featuring contributions from close to 300 scholars and practitioners from more than 65 countries, representing all regions of the world. Contributors include leading experts in their respective fields - among them current and former UN Special Rapporteurs and Independent Experts, renowned academics, judges of national, international and regional (human rights) courts, members of universal and regional human rights bodies, members of the International Law Commission, as well as legal advisors of foreign offices and international and non-governmental organizations. Key Features: Over 340 entries Entries organized alphabetically for ease of navigation Fully cross-referenced Entries written by practitioners and scholars from around the world World class editorial team
ISBN: 1789903610Publication Date: 2022-09-13 -
Elgar Encyclopedia of International Economic Law
by
The Encyclopediais the definitive reference work on international economic law. This comprehensive resource helps redefine the field by presenting international economic law in its broadest, real-world context. Organized thematically rather than alphabetically, the subject is split into four principal sections: the foundations and architecture of international economic law, its principles, its main regulatory areas, and the future challenges that it faces. Comprising over 250 entries written by leading scholars and practitioners, traditional international economic law subject matter is supplemented by coverage of newly developing areas. Thus, the concepts and rules of trade, investment, finance and international tax law are found alongside entries discussing the relationship of international economic law with environmental protection, social standards, development, and human rights. The concise entries present an accessible and condensed overview of each topic within its legal context. Contributors offer insight into how institutions interact with each other and other legal systems, in addition to providing individual overviews of their history, structure, principles and procedures. Selected references follow each entry, suggesting directions for further detailed exploration of the topic. This Encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for both practitioners and academics. It acts as a handy reference to all areas of international economic law, and provides the ideal starting point for any research journey. Key features: valuable reference tool for scholars, students and practitioners organised thematically, covering newly developing areas of international economic law concise, structured entries from the top experts in the field selected references for further study.
ISBN: 9781784713546Publication Date: 2017-11-24 -
-
Encyclopedia of Law and Development
by
This comprehensive Encyclopedia is an indispensable resource in the area of law and development. Bringing together more than 80 entries, the Encyclopedia spans a variety of approaches, contextualised histories, recent developments and forward-looking insights into the role of law in development. Entries cover the social, economic and environmental aspects of sustainable development, and offer a conceptual and contextualised perspective on key topics and terms. The Encyclopedia pluralises scholarship in the field by featuring eminent scholars of law and development alongside up-and-coming voices from both the Global South and North with diverse approaches and backgrounds. The Encyclopedia of Law and Developmentis an invaluable reference point for scholars seeking to engage with issues at the intersection of law and development from both within and outside of the legal field. It is also a thorough but succinct overview for post-graduate students wishing to familiarise themselves with the various aspects of law and development research and study. Key features: More than 80 entries Organised alphabetically for ease of reference Entries by both leading scholars and up-and-coming voices Each entry features selected references for further study Up-to-date outlook linked to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and Sustainable Development Goals.
ISBN: 1788117964Publication Date: 2021-01-15 -
-
Encyclopedia of Public International Law in Asia Online by
Publication Date: 2021 -
Encyclopedia of the Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy
by
This encyclopedia covers all topics in the philosophy of law and social philosophy, including the history, theory, and leading theorists in both fields. Featuring specially commissioned entries by an international team of the world's most respected scholars, including more than 700 entries ensuring its place as the definitive reference work on the Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy. The encyclopedia provides: 1) a clear concise expert definition and explanation of the key concepts in the field, written by leading scholars; 2) an essential reference for experts and newcomers alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics; 3) an investigation of questions that have traditionally defined the field, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the fields of the philosophy of law and social philosophy; 4) introductions to theories and research developed in all the world's languages and legal traditions.
ISBN: 9789400765191Publication Date: 2020-06-28 -
European Encyclopedia of Private International Law
by
The Encyclopedia of Private International Lawquite simply represents the definitive reference work in the field. Bringing together 195 authors from 57 countries the Encyclopedia sheds light on the current state of Private International Law around the globe, providing unique insights into the discipline and how it is affected by globalization and increased regional integration. The role and character of Private International Law has changed tremendously over the past decades. With the steady increase of global and regional inter-connectedness the practical significance of the discipline has grown. And so has the number of legislative activities on the national, international and, most importantly, the European level. The Encyclopediais a rich and varied resource in four volumes. The first two volumes provide comprehensive coverage of topical aspects of Private International Law in the form of 247 alphabetically arranged entries. The third volume provides insightful detail on the national Private International Law regimes of 80 different countries. The fourth volume presents invaluable, and often unique, English language translations of the national codifications and provisions of Private International Law in those countries. Key Features: 247 substantive entries 80 national reports Entries organized alphabetically for ease of navigation Fully cross-referenced Entries written by the world s foremost scholars of Private International Law National codifications in English collected together into a single volume for quick reference World class editorial team.
ISBN: 9781782547228Publication Date: 2017-09-29
-
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law (MPECCoL) provides a high level of analytical coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law is a comprehensive and authoritative resource that offers in-depth analysis of constitutional law across various countries and legal systems. This platform provides detailed entries on a wide range of topics, including constitutional theory, individual rights, governance structures, and judicial review, with a focus on comparing legal frameworks and practices around the world.
-
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Peer-reviewed articles on international law. Contains both the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law The Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law (OEEUL) provides analysis of EU law by specialized contributors. It includes over 100 articles covering the essence, character, development, and history of EU law. OEEUL launches with 95 articles. New articles will be added on a periodic and frequent basis throughout the course of each year until the full complement of over 1000 planned articles-currently being authored, peer-reviewed, edited, and prepared for publication is reached.
-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP Online) is the largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of philosophy. It is a trusted source of quality information, providing access to over 2,800 articles that have been edited for level and consistency by a team of renowned subject experts. Regularly updated with new and revised articles it is the ideal entry point for further discovery and research, clearly organised and with over 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts and philosophers. It is also an ideal reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.